May 1 – ADOBE FIRST FRAME!

USC_SCA_first_framePlease post your feedback and comments on the show…

32 comments on “May 1 – ADOBE FIRST FRAME!

  1. uscanimation says:

    We had a great show on Wednesday –
    Please write a few comments about the show and the work!
    Mike

  2. Joanna Barondess says:

    It was amazing seeing everyone’s work up on the big screen with surround sound! Everyone who had films in first frame is extremely talented and it was obvious that they put a lot of hard work into making those pieces. Congratulations to all the student filmmakers showcased in First Frame!

  3. Linda Jules says:

    This year was my favorite first frame yet. I really enjoyed seeing the selection of films from our program played on a big screen, and I thought the program perfectly outlined the work that is being done here at USC Animation.

  4. Einar says:

    First Frame was an incredibly pleasant experience this year. It was great to see the diverse work being created within the department.

  5. Dustin Reno says:

    It was a really great event, and I feel extremely fortunate to have had the opportunity to be a part of it.

  6. Yizhou Li says:

    It felt great to stand on stage! There were so many good films and filmmakers, and I had a wonderful time with everyone.

  7. Dan Wilson says:

    At most large screenings like this, I’d expect a few boring films or things that didn’t really connect with me. Well good news, everyone who would be offended if I said that – I really enjoyed First Frame! I was happy to see such the variety of sources – from intro class weekly assignments all the way to a thesis film or two. I’m also glad I finally got to go … last year I was out of town, and the year before, I was sick. This year, I was at a wedding mere days before. Destiny!

  8. Evan Harbuck says:

    What a great showing of work at First Frame and one of the best I’ve seen yet. Congrats to everyone who screened their work.

  9. Ivan Sayon says:

    Very well organized and enjoyable. It’s always great to see work currently and previously in the program in such a high quality screening venue.

  10. Amy Lee Ketchum says:

    Woot! Go USC and First Frame! Great show and congrats to my fellow DADA’ians.

  11. Ruthie Williams says:

    This year’s First Frame was really great, there was such a variety of films and they all stood out. Congrats to everyone and nice work First Years helping Lisa run an awesome show! 🙂

  12. kvalanejad says:

    Congratulations to all whose work has been immortalized on this year’s First Frame DVD. It will be fun to look back in a few years on this collection of talented animators and say ‘I knew them before they were famous.’

  13. Lisa Chung says:

    The thing I love most about First Frame is the ability to be fully submerged in my classmates films. Whether it’s a fantastical musical, a beautiful CG short with amazing lighting, a complex sound design over simple graphics or a detailed cutout animation, the venue really help these films shine. Having this space and event is not only a great way to celebrate student’s work, but it also show case the vast range of animation techniques used in our animation program.

    Thanks to Lisa Mann for doing such a wonderful job organizing the event:)

  14. Jason Ronzani says:

    The diversity of work on display at First Frame was most impressive. The show was a great example of all the amazing spaces that animation can occupy (experimental/narrative, comedy/drama). However, my conversations with many of the people picking up the DVDs afterwards made me realize what little understanding and appreciation the general adult public has for animation. I’d say about four fifths of the people who spoke to me about the show emphasized they “didn’t understand most of them” (the quote of the night). Hopefully, events like First Frame will open their minds a bit more and allow them to see animation as more than just something for kids!

  15. Ryan Gillis says:

    This years program was totally awesome and I am honored to have been a part of it. The screening really flew by, and it was great to hang out with everyone off campus in our socializing clothes.
    It’s a fine fine event and I’m glad it exists. Thank you to everyone for putting it on. I’m looking forward to next year.

  16. Caress Reeves says:

    As a first year it’s great to see other people’s work on the big screen, even graduates. It was also exciting to see films that have recently been entered into very prestigious film festivals. You all were great!

  17. Yang Liu says:

    I am extremely impressed by the entire year’s quality and creativity, and I was very proud of Ryan Kravetz’s thesis, having been at USC for several years, this year first frame is probably the best quality selection. Congratulations to everyone!

  18. Louis Morton says:

    It was wonderful to be immersed in the wide variety of work from USC students past and present for an evening. I thought the programming for this years festival was particularly excellent. There was a great balance in the ordering of the films, between abstract and narrative, short and longer, by the time the last film came on I couldn’t believe it was already over!

  19. It was my first time to be there and it was a great experience! The animations are so good.

  20. Cecilia De Jesus says:

    This First Frame felt like one of the strongest ones I’ve seen. All the films across the board were so creative and well-done. I’m proud to see all the great work created in our program!

  21. lanzhujian says:

    This is a great event, wish my film can be shown next year.

  22. Chaoqi Zhang says:

    Wow, I had a great time in the 2013 First Frame. The animations are so good, that I feel proud of our DADA program for its significant yearly growth. I will do good works for 2014 First Frame.

  23. Simo Liu says:

    It was a great change to see people’s works screening at DGA Theater. Every people did great jobs and all the works were amazing. I enjoyed it and had a great time. I’m so exciting about next year.

  24. Andrew Malek says:

    I think this year’s First Frame was phenomenal. I really enjoyed the program and how there was a healthy focus on both comedy and experimental work, especially Einar’s intro piece. Seeing things big is great!

  25. linhuiwang says:

    Thanks school and Lisa for giving us a great chance to watch so mang great films.

  26. Yifu Zhou says:

    Adobe First Frame is really helpful for us to get more exposer in the industrial. It’s also a great event which can encourage us making better animation.

  27. I loved First Frame, I found it to be an emotionally satisfying experience as well as an exhausting one. All of the work impressed me, the variety was exciting and a few of them just blew me away.

  28. Joseph Yeh says:

    I really enjoyed seeing the variety of very high level work! First Frame is such a great event and it inspires me to become a better artist. Good Shiet.

  29. What a great show. We’re such a diverse group of of filmmakers and extremely talented too. It was also great to see a few blast from the past running around as well. I think everyone should feel proud.

    I hope we can get the games to come back next year. Their presence was definitely missed.

    …Also, water and soda would be great too.

  30. Jovanna says:

    This year was one of the strongest lineups of student work to screen at Adobe First Frame. It makes me excited to see what amazing work will be included in next year’s screening.

  31. Emily Chung says:

    Great job for everyone 🙂 I really enjoyed the show !

Leave a Reply

